Showing posts with label Phily. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Phily. Show all posts

Sunday, November 30, 2008

And the Party Continues


First off... Happy Birthday Aunt Abi!!!  Yep, my friend Abi has her birthday today.  She too is old.  She's exactly 1 year, 51 weeks older than I am.  If you remember how old I just turned, then you can figure out her age.  I won't tell you directly, because that's not nice. *grin*.
Anyhow, last night was a good night.  We got to Kat's right about on time.  Unfortunately, Uncle Andy was running a little late, so that made us a little late.  So, dinner was a bit hurried.  That's OK, I was more interested in the show anyhow.
Did I mention that there was an earlier TSO show and a Tina Turner show at 8 as well?  Did I mention that traffic around the sports complex sucks when there's only one event going on?  I'm glad I wasn't driving.  (I always seem to get turned around and not where I want to go down there... even following the hordes...)  I do feel for Kat though.  She was driving.  A stick-shift old Jeep.  In heels.  Nope, not fun.  So, we end up getting into the Wachovia Center right at 8:30.  The show was supposed to start at 8, but they held it until 8:30.  This means we missed the intro and the first two songs by the time we made a really quick pit stop and found our seats.
All the way up in nosebleed territory.  We were about as far to stage left as you could go and still be in front of the stage.  Our seats would have been great, about 3 sections to our right.  Oh well.  That's what I get for waiting until the last moment to buy them and not be able to afford "good" tickets.  Kat was expecting to sit up in the rafters with us.  But she was lucky enough to actually win tickets from WMGK.  So, she and Scott got to sit 3rd row, almost center.
Yes, I thought about calling her all kinds of nasty names.
Then I realized that if anyone deserves something cool like that this year, it's her.  She's gone through a pile of it the last year or two, so this was nice for her.
I'm still jealous though.
Anyhow, the show went until just about 11.  No, I don't have any pictures because I left my camera in Boo's room.  Not that any of them would have turned out.  (Kat did get some great ones though....)  It was even more rocking than the last time I got to see them.  They had lots and lots of pyro this year.  I mean, we could feel the heat from them at times all the way up where we were!  At one point Gak leaned over to me and said "I gave up counting lighting cues..." in a very awed tone of voice.  That's what I get for marrying a theater tech.  I wish we lived closer or could afford a second car or something so he could actually get a job doing things like that.  He'd love to be doing that again.  And he's good at it.  *Sigh*
We got home and crawled into bed at just about 1:30.  Mom was all but conked out on the sofa and Boo opened his eyes to look at me as I walked through his room, but went back to sleep right away.  I'd love to say I slept like a log, but as always after a late night, I slept like crap.  Oh well.  Hopefully Boo will be a happy little boy today and I won't have to have too stressful a day.
I finally got the pictures from the weekend uploaded to Flickr.  Enjoy!  As I'm sure you'll see, we had a good time.
Well, I'm off to find something quiet to do while my boys sleep for a bit.
Peace to all and may your holidays be fun and family filled!

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Pumpkin Pi and Other Fall Clasics

First off.....

WE WON!

(we'll be continuing this post in a light cyan, as I can't figure out how to get back to my "normal" color since it isn't on the pick list...)

Yes, that's right, Philadelphia finally has a championship in a major league sport for the first time in about 25 years, which is actually longer than I've been living in the region.  It's been 14 years (since I was a senior in high school) since the Phills went to the Series.  We've been so close, but so far for so many years, I'm not sure how the city will react.  I'm sure it'll be sheer chaos at work......

I have to admit, I didn't watch the game.  Nope, I only watched about 6 innings of the entire Phills playoff run this season.  It seemed to work better that way.  (I did enjoy the Ray's game I caught though...)

Ok, back to "normal" posting.  The picture at the top of the post is my entry for today's "Pumpkin carving and decorating contest" at work.  No, I didn't carve it, and technically, it's not even really a pumpkin.  But it is decorated, and looks like a pumpkin.
And it has my sense of humor.
Luckily I work with engineers, so hopefully some will at least understand, and a few will even chuckle.
Yes, I crocheted a Pumpkin Pi.
No, I didn't set out to make Pi.  I originally was going to make my pumpkin a traditional Jack-O-Lantern face.  But nothing I was trying this morning was working.  (Don't you just love how I don't finish things until the last minute??  Drives my Mom and my teachers in school crazy...)  So, inspiration hit and I made Pi.  I'm debating if I should take it in the pie tin or not.  I think I will, for those who are a bit math challenged.  (Or those who just don't get my sense of humor... which is most people *sigh*)

Anyhow, I'm off to get dressed.  (We're having a costume contest as well and since I have no "real" costume, I'm going to wear my hard hat and my many pocketed vest and call myself Wendy.  Anyone with children who were watching PBS about 4 or 5 years ago, know who I'm talking about...)

Peace to all and may dreams come true and your humor be appreciated.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Wild Weather

Well, can the weather get any weirder??
This picture is of Boo that GrammaSue took yesterday.  The face says it all.  Anyone who's following baseball knows that for the first time in World Series history, they stopped a game.  Well, more like put it on indefinite rain delay.  If they'd called the game after the 5th, the Phills would have won and we'd be planning a big party.  Now all kinds of chaos is breaking loose.
Not only did it rain like crazy last night, this morning it is snowing!
No, I don't have pictures.  I only have my camera phone with me and I can't get it to send out pictures for some reason.
On my drive down here, it was raining quite a bit.  The temp on the bank sign said 33 degrees.  There were some pretty solid rain drops.  By the time I got down here to work, it was snowing for real.  It has gotten quite heavy and is actually sticking.  They were calling for 3" in the Poconos, but nothing here.  What's really funny is that it's not snowing 15 miles north of here or about the same south of here.  It's just this one little area where hte conditions are just right.
It's a good thing GrammaSue brought up the snow suit yesterday that they bought Boo.  Luckily he and Daddy got a ride from Uncle Scott.  Unfortunately, Uncle Scott called about 3 minutes before getting there.  So Boo went to day care today in his sleeper and his snow suit.  Daddy did get a picture of Boo in the snow suit.  It's a little big on him.  I'll post that one tomorrow.
Boo also got something really cute in the mail yesterday.  He got a new dino from Nana in OK.  I got several pictures of Boo and his two dino buddies playing in the crib this morning.  They're still on the camera, but look for them tomorrow!

Anyhow, I've got to get back to work.  I'm feeling a little bit under the weather (haha) with a bit of a cold and it's almost the end of reporting month.... Can we say crazy???  (Actually, I need to run out for soft tissues as opposed to the sandpaper that is free around here and some cough drops...)

Peace to all and may your weather behave itself!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Birthdays and Philies!

Well, first a correction to my last post.  I said that Mel's birthday was Thursday the 23rd.  I was off by a few days.  Her birthday is actually the 26th.  The same as Nic.  So, Mel turned 12 and Nic turned 10 on the same day.

I'm currently writing this as I wait for the first pitch of game 5 of the World Series.  Hopefully, tomorrow I'll be writing a post saying that the Phils managed to pull it off and are the world champs.  That would be so awesome!

Anyhow, back to the weekend.  Mel's birthday was a lot of fun and quite chaotic as always.  I have a love/hate relationship with these events.  I love seeing the whole family, but it's always so loud and so much chaos.  Oh well.
We were supposed to go on a hay ride, but we had to cancel it because of the rain.  The same rain that delayed the Phils for almost 2 hours and made the game go until almost 2am, with a miracle win.  I'll have more pics up as soon as I finish going through them.

Work is hell right now.  There are three days left of the reporting month and I'm feeling every second weighing down on me.  I'll just leave it at that.

Well, the game is about to start, so I'm off!  I may post more about the weekend later, but I doubt it, it was pretty mellow overall.

Peace to all and may your team do well.*

*Unless they're the Rays......

Friday, August 08, 2008

Good Visit


Ok. I'll hopefully write more. I have to apologize for not posting earlier. It's been a busy few days and I'm trying like crazy to make time slow down. I start back to work on Tuesday and I'm trying to ignore that fact.

Anyhow, Gak's brother Raeferd came out to the east coast with his girlfriend Tania. Tania's parents live in VA, somewhat outside of DC. They came up here for a couple of days. They got up here Wednesday afternoon. We had a good evening and just hung out.

Yesterday we went into Philly. Mind you, I hate driving in Philly and am very good at getting lost. Yes, I even got turned around with Raeferd's GPS trying to give me directions. (I do so much better with a map in the woods... I miss orienteering... next season....)

Anyhow, we spent most of our time down at Independence Hall. It was a good day. We all had fun. Boo slept a lot, but was very, very good while awake. We also swung by the Art Museum so Raeferd could see the Rocky statue.

Last night we had Kat, Scott, Chris and Diane over. It was a very good evening. I kept thinking about Gram a lot. We were having good food and good conversation sitting around her dinning room table. I kept thinking about the times we had on the porch at the house in Delaware.

Anyhow, I'm a bit tired. I had a bad sleep night. (Boo slept like a rock...) I may try and elaborate tomorrow, or I may not.

Peace to all and may time behave like you want it to.

Sunday, March 11, 2007

Fun in Phily



Yesterday a dozen of us descended on the PMA (Philadelphia Art Museum) for a fun and educational day. All of this was organized by Steve, our friend who is home on leave from Iraq.

We gather at the usual staging point and head out. Steve switched into 'Captain Voice' a few times, but only because people needed it. We've decided that 'Captain Voice' is the male version of the 'Mom Voice' which is even more attention demanding than the 'Teacher Voice'.

We pile into two vehicles and two more are meeting us at the museum. Kat directs us the back ways down there as we hear on the radio that the Schuylkill is majorly backed up. We make it down there with little trouble. Parking the trucks on the other hand, was an almost adventure, especially with Steve driving.

Why are we going to the art museum you may be wondering. This isn't a group well known to be overly 'cultural'. Well, Steve found us a game. Yes, a game at the art museum. There's a group that puts on these hunts at various places in various cites around the country. There was a 'murder' to be solved. We divided into two teams and competed against about a dozen other teams. The next two hours consisted of madly dashing from gallery to gallery trying to answer questions and figure out the clues. In some vague ways it was almost 'DaVinci Code' like, but only on the surface. We had a lot of fun. Neither one of our teams got the right answer, but we all had a lot of fun.

Next was our drive over to Chestnut Hill to get dinner and catch a show. Wow! Two majorly cultural events in one day! I'm impressed some of these people didn't explode from all the culture they were getting. Chestnut Hill is a very nice area. We park the trucks and walk a couple of blocks to a neat little restaurant for dinner. I don't remember the name, but the beef burgundy I had was fabulous. Steve's two cousins leave us at this point and we walk another few blocks to the theater. Steve got us tickets to see a production of "Noises Off" a very funny farce about the theater and love triangles. I was rolling laughing at the third act. I really wish Gak had been able to join us. He would have had a lot of fun, especially since his major was theater. He has lots of stories that are scarily similar to the play. The play was well done and fun was had.

We then pile back into the vehicles again and head back to the original staging point. Kat drops me off at home and then goes to join Steve and a few of the others somewhere else to continue the evening. I collapse gratefully into my bed at about midnight, or is it 1am with the time change. (Don't get me started on the time change thing... I'm beginning to sound like my father!)

Well, today I'm spending a lazy day with Gak and just going to hang out. Peace to all and may you find something fun and out of your ordinary to do from time to time.